5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course

#6 in our ranking

Image Driving School: 5-Hour Course Profile

Image Driving School lists its 5-hour course in a Brooklyn classroom as well as on Zoom, with a week of sessions and a clear set of house rules. Here is how it works and what to confirm first.

8.8/10

A Brooklyn classroom, with Zoom as the second option

Image Driving School lists the 5-hour course in two settings: a classroom session at its office, 9621 Flatlands Avenue in Brooklyn, and live classes on Zoom. The DMV allows both formats from age 16, and both end with a paper MV-278, as our formats guide explains.

A classroom suits learners who study better away from home, or who lack a quiet corner and a steady connection for five hours. The school’s page does not state a language of instruction, so ask the office if that matters to you.

Choose the setting by how you concentrate. If you work best with a room, a timetable and a person in front of you, take a Tuesday or Thursday classroom session. If travel is the obstacle, the Zoom sessions let you stay put, as long as you can meet the camera and quiet-place rules below.

How the week is laid out

Classroom sessions are held on Tuesday and Thursday from 10 AM to 3 PM. The page says walk-ins are acceptable and that reservations are held for 15 minutes. Zoom sessions fill the rest of the week: Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 10 AM to 3 PM or 12 to 5 PM, plus Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 5 to 10 PM. The page advertises six sessions a week, which gives you a few ways to fit the class around school or work.

Walk-ins are a real convenience when your plans are uncertain, but a reserved seat is the safer choice if your date is fixed. Either way, plan the whole block: the class runs the full 5 hours. A 10 AM start finishes at 3 PM, and an evening start at 5 PM runs until 10 PM, so check which end time fits your day.

House rules for the Zoom class

The DMV requires a live class with identity checks at enrollment and during the course. On top of that, the school sets its own conditions for Zoom, which are worth reading before you book:

  • Camera and microphone on, from a quiet place. The page rules out sitting in a car or taking the class at work.
  • A copy of your learner permit emailed to the school.
  • All 5 hours attended. Partial attendance is voided, and the class must be retaken.
  • Rescheduling with 24 hours’ notice. A no-show is not refunded.

These are the school’s policies, not DMV rules. The attendance rule matters most: a voided class means taking the full 5 hours again, so book a slot you can hold from start to finish.

Price and picking up your certificate

The page lists $45. The price note on it carries an effective date from 2023, so confirm the current figure when you book, as you would with any provider. Our cost guide shows how the price compares with others.

The MV-278 is ready the next business day, and you collect it in person: you sign it and pick it up at the office within 48 hours. The page does not mention mail delivery, so if you live far from Flatlands Avenue, ask about it before you book; Coreway is one provider in this guide that mails the certificate. For the rules that apply to every certificate, see the MV-278 guide.

Once you have the certificate, the road test is the next step. The DMV scheduler works online, or you can phone 1-518-402-2100, and the earliest openings are usually 3 to 5 weeks away, so it pays to book soon after pickup. Our road test guide lists what to bring.

This profile draws on the school’s public page and the DMV’s pages as checked in October 2026.

What we like

  • A classroom option for learners who prefer to attend in person
  • Zoom classes on other days and some evenings
  • $45 listed price
  • Zoom rules are spelled out: camera, microphone and a quiet place

Keep in mind

  • The certificate must be signed and collected at the office; no mail option is stated
  • The language of instruction is not stated
  • Reschedule with 24 hours’ notice; no refund for no-shows

Our verdict

Image Driving School stands out for offering both a classroom and Zoom at a mid-range price. It suits learners who focus better in a room, or who live close enough to Canarsie to sign the certificate at the office the next business day. Its Zoom rules are stated clearly on its page, which helps you prepare. The main trade-offs are that the certificate is collected in person and that the school does not state the class language.

Best for: Brooklyn learners who prefer a classroom or want to collect the certificate in person

Frequently asked questions

Can I take Image’s class in a classroom?

Yes. The school lists classroom sessions on Tuesday and Thursday from 10 AM to 3 PM at its Flatlands Avenue office in Brooklyn. Its page says walk-ins are acceptable and reservations are held for 15 minutes.

What happens if I miss part of a Zoom class?

The school’s page says partial attendance is voided and the class must be retaken. It also asks for 24 hours’ notice to reschedule and does not refund no-shows.

Can the MV-278 be mailed to me?

The page describes signing and picking up the certificate at the office the next business day and does not mention mail. If you cannot travel to the office, ask the school before you book.