What the course costs in New York City
New York State does not set a price for the course. The DMV’s pre-licensing course page lists no fee and simply directs you to the school or provider, which means every school decides for itself. In October 2026, the providers in our directory publish these prices for the class:
- $38 offer price (regular $49): Pre-Licensing Course LLC, an online self-paced course
- $40: NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course (flat), and Coreway (from $40; some dates are listed at $50)
- $44.95: NTSI, online self-paced
- $45: Image Driving School, classroom or Zoom
- $50: Drive Rite Academy NY (Zoom and self-paced), Deshi Driving School and Alyaa Driving School
- $60: Grand Prix Driving School
- $65: New York Auto School and Bronx Driving School
Prices and promotions change, so treat this list as a snapshot and confirm the number on the provider’s page for the date you choose. The spread is wide: the most expensive class listed costs about $25 more than the cheapest live class, for the same five hours and the same certificate.
What the class price covers
The price buys a seat in the five-hour class and the school’s work to issue your certificate. Beyond that, schools differ on what is bundled. NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course state that there is no extra charge for the certificate. Grand Prix describes its price as free of hidden fees. At Coreway, the class has no quizzes or final exam, the permit is checked on camera, and the MV-278 is issued the next business day.
The closer you look, the more the delivery method matters. A certificate that is mailed, collected at an office or confirmed digitally can carry different costs and timing. The comparison table below shows each provider’s approach in one column, and our MV-278 guide goes through the details.
All providers side by side: price, format and certificate
| # | Provider | Score | Price | Format | Languages | MV-278 certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Coreway Driving School | 9.6 | From $40 | Live online (Zoom) | English, Spanish | Paper MV-278 next business day: mail or Brooklyn pickup |
| 2 | NY 5-Hour Course | 9.5 | $40 | Live online class | English, Spanish | MV-278 issued after you complete the class |
| 3 | 5 Hour Class NYC | 9.4 | $40 | Live online class | English, Spanish | MV-278 issued after you complete the class |
| 4 | Take 5-Hour Course | 9.3 | $40 | Live online class | English, Spanish | MV-278 issued after you complete the class |
| 5 | Drive Rite Academy NY | 9.0 | $50 | Live online (Zoom), Online self-paced | Not stated | Zoom: paper MV-278 by mail (+$5) or Brooklyn pickup; self-paced: reported to DMV |
| 6 | Image Driving School | 8.8 | $45 | In-person, Live online (Zoom) | Not stated | Sign and pick up at the office the next business day |
| 7 | New York Auto School | 8.6 | $65 | Live online (Zoom) | English, Spanish | Mailed to the permit address the next business day |
| 8 | Grand Prix Driving School | 8.5 | $60 | Live online (Zoom) | Not stated | Mailed the next day |
| 9 | Pre-Licensing Course LLC | 8.3 | $38 offer (regular $49) | Online self-paced | English, Spanish | No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h) |
| 10 | National Traffic Safety Institute (NTSI) | 8.1 | $44.95 | Online self-paced | English, Spanish | No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h) |
| 11 | Deshi Driving School | 8.0 | $50 | Live online (Zoom), In-person | Not stated | Sign and pick up at the office the next day |
| 12 | Bronx Driving School | 7.8 | $65 | Live online (Zoom) | Not stated | Not stated |
| 13 | Alyaa Driving School | 7.7 | $50 | Live online (Zoom) | Not stated for the class | Not stated |
Prices and formats as published on each provider’s website in October 2026. Scores are our editorial assessment, not customer ratings.
Extras you may meet at checkout
These are the add-ons and fees that providers in the directory publish. Not every school charges all of them:
- Card processing fee. Coreway adds a 2.9% fee to card payments. It also accepts Klarna and Afterpay, which let you split the payment.
- Mailing the certificate. Drive Rite charges $5 for standard mail, which takes one to two weeks, and more for faster delivery. Coreway offers standard USPS mail or pickup at its Brooklyn office, with expedited two-day or overnight delivery selectable at checkout.
- A duplicate certificate. Coreway lists $25 while the original is still valid, and Deshi lists $20. Other schools do not publish a figure.
- Road test appointment booking. Coreway charges $20 for standard booking and $70 for rush. NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course charge $25 for standard booking, which usually lands 5 to 9 weeks out, and $75 for rush, usually 1 to 3 weeks out. New York Auto School lists free road test scheduling with the class.
- A car for the road test. Coreway lists $110, and the three $40 booking sites list $115.
None of these is compulsory for the class itself. You can also book your own road test directly through the DMV, as we describe on the road test page, and use a vehicle that meets the DMV’s requirements.
Packages that bundle the class with lessons or the car
Some schools sell the class together with other services. Coreway’s packages combine the class, a road test appointment, a car for the road test and 1, 3, 5 or 8 driving lessons of 45 minutes each, at $230, $332, $437 and $585 respectively. Alyaa Driving School lists a BASIC package at $225 with the Zoom class, a 30-minute lesson, a car for the road test and road test scheduling.
A package can be good value if you want exactly what it contains. Compare it with the price of buying each piece separately, using the extras above, and check whether the class is the part you need at all. If you are only after the course, the standalone price is the number to look at.
How to avoid paying for the class twice
The most common reason people pay twice is an avoidable one. A short list of precautions covers most of it:
- Check eligibility first. The online course is for ages 18 and up with a photo permit, and junior permit holders cannot use it. Our eligibility guide covers the exemptions, since some drivers do not need the course at all.
- Have the permit ready. Schools confirm identity at enrollment and during the class. Coreway checks the permit on camera, and Grand Prix asks that your Zoom name match the name on the permit.
- Attend the whole class. Providers such as Coreway and Image state that missing part of the class means no certificate and a repeat class.
- Read the cancellation terms. Coreway and Grand Prix allow free rescheduling with at least 24 hours’ notice. Image asks for 24 hours’ notice and does not refund no-shows. New York Auto School charges in full for late cancellations. Deshi applies a 10% refund fee, with a $10 minimum.
- Time the class to your road test. The MV-278 is valid for one year and must be valid when you book. Taking the course far ahead of a delayed test can mean taking it again.
- Protect the certificate. A replacement may carry a fee, so keep the original somewhere safe.
Is the cheapest class the best choice?
Not automatically. A lower price helps most when everything else is equal, and it rarely is. A $38 online course is cheaper than a $40 Zoom class, but it excludes anyone under 18, gives no paper certificate and has no live instructor. A $45 classroom class may suit someone who concentrates better in a room, and a $65 class that mails the certificate may suit a family that cannot easily get to an office.
This is why our ranking gives price and transparency 25% of the score but not more: the rest comes from format options, class availability, languages, booking and certificate handling, and extras. The About page lays out the weights. When you are ready to compare, the provider directory has a short note on each school.