5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course

Provider directory

Where to Take the 5-Hour Course: Provider Directory

Thirteen providers that teach the New York 5-hour pre-licensing course to New York City learners, listed in our ranking order with the facts that matter before you book.

Updated October 2026

How this list is ordered

The directory follows our ranking, which is an editorial score out of 10 rather than a customer rating. The score is built from six published criteria: price and transparency, format options, class availability, languages, booking and certificate handling, and extras such as road test help. The weights are listed on the About page, together with the way we check each fact.

Four providers carry a Partner label because the publisher works with them: Coreway Driving School, NY 5-Hour Course, 5 Hour Class NYC and Take 5-Hour Course. The other nine have no arrangement with us. Prices and class dates come from each provider’s own website as of October 2026, and they can change, so confirm them before you pay.

The directory at a glance

#ProviderScore PriceFormatLanguages MV-278 certificate
1 Coreway Driving School 9.6 From $40 Live online (Zoom) English, Spanish Paper MV-278 next business day: mail or Brooklyn pickup
2 NY 5-Hour Course 9.5 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
3 5 Hour Class NYC 9.4 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
4 Take 5-Hour Course 9.3 $40 Live online class English, Spanish MV-278 issued after you complete the class
5 Drive Rite Academy NY 9.0 $50 Live online (Zoom), Online self-paced Not stated Zoom: paper MV-278 by mail (+$5) or Brooklyn pickup; self-paced: reported to DMV
6 Image Driving School 8.8 $45 In-person, Live online (Zoom) Not stated Sign and pick up at the office the next business day
7 New York Auto School 8.6 $65 Live online (Zoom) English, Spanish Mailed to the permit address the next business day
8 Grand Prix Driving School 8.5 $60 Live online (Zoom) Not stated Mailed the next day
9 Pre-Licensing Course LLC 8.3 $38 offer (regular $49) Online self-paced English, Spanish No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h)
10 National Traffic Safety Institute (NTSI) 8.1 $44.95 Online self-paced English, Spanish No paper MV-278: completion reported to DMV (24–48 h)
11 Deshi Driving School 8.0 $50 Live online (Zoom), In-person Not stated Sign and pick up at the office the next day
12 Bronx Driving School 7.8 $65 Live online (Zoom) Not stated Not stated
13 Alyaa Driving School 7.7 $50 Live online (Zoom) Not stated for the class Not stated

Prices and formats as published on each provider’s website in October 2026. Scores are our editorial assessment, not customer ratings.

Provider-by-provider notes

1. Coreway Driving School (9.6, Partner)

A live 5-hour class on Zoom with a live instructor, open from age 16 including junior permits, from $40 (some dates are listed at $50). English classes run on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 5 PM and Saturdays at 1 PM, with a Spanish class on select Sundays at 3 PM. Brooklyn offices handle certificate pickup. See the Coreway profile.

2. NY 5-Hour Course (9.5, Partner)

A live online class at a flat $40, with posted dates and a short seat-reservation form. It teaches in English and Spanish and has separate pages for each borough. See the NY 5-Hour Course profile.

3. 5 Hour Class NYC (9.4, Partner)

The same flat $40 live online class and the same posted schedule, with articles and borough guides alongside. The site has a full Spanish version. See the 5 Hour Class NYC profile.

4. Take 5-Hour Course (9.3, Partner)

A flat $40 live online class where the idea is to pick the nearest posted date and reserve a seat. It serves all five boroughs in English and Spanish. See the Take 5-Hour Course profile.

5. Drive Rite Academy NY (9.0)

A Brooklyn school with Zoom classes on most days in four time blocks, plus a self-paced online course, both at $50. The paper certificate can be mailed for $5 or picked up in Brooklyn. See the Drive Rite profile.

6. Image Driving School (8.8)

The classroom option in Canarsie, Brooklyn, on Tuesdays and Thursdays, with Zoom classes on other days, at $45. The certificate is signed and collected at the office. See the Image Driving School profile.

7. New York Auto School (8.6)

A live Zoom class in English and Spanish at $65, with offices in Manhattan and Westchester. The certificate is mailed the next business day, and road test scheduling is free with the class. See the New York Auto School profile.

8. Grand Prix Driving School (8.5)

An Upper East Side school that teaches live on Zoom every day, morning and evening, at $60. The camera stays on and the certificate is mailed the next day. See the Grand Prix profile.

9. Pre-Licensing Course LLC (8.3)

An Astoria-based online self-paced course in English and Spanish, listed at a $38 offer price, for ages 18 and up. There is no paper certificate. See the Pre-Licensing Course LLC profile.

10. National Traffic Safety Institute (8.1)

A self-paced online course in English and Spanish at $44.95, with a base in Staten Island, for ages 18 and up. It issues no paper certificate. See the NTSI profile.

11. Deshi Driving School (8.0)

An Elmhurst, Queens school that teaches over Zoom for $50 and mentions classroom attendance. The certificate is signed and picked up at the office the next day. See the Deshi profile.

12. Bronx Driving School (7.8)

A Castle Hill school offering a Zoom class by appointment on Wednesdays at 6 PM and Saturdays at 11 AM for $65. The class language and certificate delivery are not stated. See the Bronx Driving School profile.

13. Alyaa Driving School (7.7)

A Staten Island school with a $50 Zoom class and a $225 BASIC package that adds a lesson, the road test car and scheduling. Its page does not state the class schedule or language. See the Alyaa profile.

How to choose a provider

Start with the questions that remove options, and only then compare prices.

  1. Check your age and permit. Live classes are open from 16. The online course is for ages 18 and up with a photo permit, and not for junior permit holders. Our guide to Zoom, classroom and online formats goes through the rules.
  2. Check that you need the course at all. Some drivers are exempt, as explained on who needs the 5-hour course.
  3. Look at the language. If you want a Spanish class, see the providers that teach in Spanish.
  4. Look at the dates. Fixed class dates are only useful if one fits your week, so compare the schedules before the prices.
  5. Look at how the certificate reaches you. Mail, office pickup and digital confirmation each have their own timing, covered on the MV-278 page.
  6. Add up the extras. Card fees, mailing and road test help change the total, as shown in the cost guide.

Once the class is behind you, booking your road test is the next job.

Frequently asked questions

Is the course the same at every provider?

The requirement is the same: it is the New York pre-licensing course, and the DMV sets the rules for each format. What differs between providers is the price, the format, the language, the schedule, how the certificate is delivered and the extras on offer.

Does a Partner label change a provider’s position in the ranking?

Partner providers are scored against the same criteria as every other provider, and the label is there so that you know the publisher works with them. The criteria and weights are on the About page.

How current is the information in the directory?

The facts were checked in October 2026 against each provider’s public website. We re-check them monthly, but prices and class dates can change at any time, so confirm them on the provider’s site before you pay.

Are there providers that are not in this directory?

Yes. This directory lists thirteen providers that serve New York City learners. The DMV keeps its own list of online pre-licensing course providers, and other schools across the state also teach the course.

Know what you need? Compare the providers and book a class that fits your week.

See the ranking