Two courses, one page
Drive Rite Academy NY sells the 5-hour course in two forms at the same $50 price, and the DMV treats them differently.
- The live Zoom class. An instructor teaches it live. It is open from age 16 and ends with a paper MV-278.
- The self-paced course. It is run by Online Traffic Safety, a provider on the DMV’s list of online pre-licensing course providers. It is for ages 18 and over with a plastic New York photo learner permit. You have 30 days to finish, short quizzes must be passed to advance, and there is no paper MV-278: the provider reports your completion to the DMV.
Holders of junior permits (class DJ or MJ) are not eligible for the self-paced option. Our formats guide sets the two routes side by side, which is worth reading before you choose a tab on the school’s page.
As a rule of thumb, a learner under 18 or with a junior permit has one route here, the live class. An adult with a photo permit can use either, and the choice comes down to whether you want a scheduled instructor or the freedom to work through the course on your own hours.
Reading the Zoom calendar
When we checked in October 2026, the Zoom calendar ran from October 17 to November 30 and offered four time blocks on most days, weekdays and weekends alike: 10 AM to 3 PM, 12 to 5 PM, 3 to 8 PM and 5 to 10 PM. Each block is a full 5-hour class. That variety helps learners whose work or school hours shift from week to week, and the evening blocks give you an option after a school day.
The page does not state which language the class is taught in. If you need a class in Spanish, our Spanish-language guide lists the providers that say so.
Check the end time of the block you pick. A 3 to 8 PM class finishes at 8 PM, and a 5 to 10 PM class runs until 10 PM. Because the blocks vary from day to day, look at the calendar for your exact date before you pay.
How the MV-278 reaches you
For the Zoom class, the school offers regular mail for $5, which takes 1 to 2 weeks; expedited 2- or 3-day mail for an additional fee; or pickup at 594 Dean Street, Office 1, in Brooklyn. If you lose the certificate, duplicates are requested through a web form on the school’s site, and the fee is not stated on the page.
If you choose mail, count the days. Standard delivery takes 1 to 2 weeks, so a learner who wants to book a road test soon may prefer pickup or expedited mail. Either way, the original must reach you before test day.
Whichever route you use, the DMV requires the original certificate at the road test and does not accept copies; our MV-278 guide explains validity. With the self-paced course, nothing arrives in the mail. Completion usually posts to your DMV record within 24 to 48 hours, and only then can you book a road test, as described in our guide to the steps after the course.
What to check before you pay
- Which course is in your basket, Zoom or self-paced, and do your age and permit type match its rules?
- The mailing fee. The $5 for regular mail is separate from the $50 class price.
- Changes and cancellations. You can reschedule or cancel through your account or by phone. For the self-paced course, the page states a full refund within 24 hours if you have not opened the content.
This profile draws on Drive Rite’s public page and the DMV’s pages as checked in October 2026. If the self-paced route is all you want, NTSI is a standalone online provider. For a live Brooklyn class with fixed weekly dates, see Coreway.
What we like
- Zoom classes on most days, in four time blocks (10–3, 12–5, 3–8 and 5–10 PM)
- Live class from age 16 or self-paced online from age 18
- MV-278 by mail for $5 or pickup in Brooklyn
- Cancel or reschedule through your account or by phone
Keep in mind
- The language of instruction is not stated
- The self-paced option is 18+ with a photo permit and issues no paper MV-278
- Expedited mail costs more than the $5 standard fee
Our verdict
Drive Rite is the highest-ranked school here that we do not work with. Its calendar is unusually flexible, its price is published up front, and it lets you choose between a live Zoom class and a self-paced course. Because the school does not state a language of instruction, ask before you book if that matters to you. Read the rules for the format you pick: the live class leads to a paper MV-278, while the self-paced course does not.
Best for: Brooklyn learners who need a class on a specific weekday or time slot