5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course

#8 in our ranking

Grand Prix Driving School: 5-Hour Course Profile

Grand Prix Driving School, based on the Upper East Side, teaches the 5-hour course entirely on live Zoom, with the camera on and no exam at the end. This profile covers registration, price and the cancellation terms.

8.5/10

A live class with the camera on

Grand Prix describes its class as 100% live Zoom with a live instructor. You attend the full session with your camera on, and there are no quizzes and no final exam. The page also says the class is valid across New York State, and ages 16 and over can join.

The camera rule is the school’s own policy. What the DMV requires of any live class is real-time instruction by a qualified instructor and identity checks at enrollment and during the course; our formats guide explains the difference between the school’s rules and the state’s. The school’s office is at 806 Lexington Avenue, but the class itself takes place on Zoom.

A camera-on class asks a little more of your setup than a recorded video would. Choose a device with a working camera and microphone, a steady connection and a spot where you will not be interrupted, and check that Zoom opens before the class begins.

Registering: what to have ready

  1. Choose a class date on the school’s page and register.
  2. Upload your learner permit at registration.
  3. Join Zoom with a display name that matches the name on your permit.
  4. Attend the full session with your camera on.
  5. Sign your MV-278 when it arrives, before you book your road test.

The name match is more than a formality. The DMV requires a school to confirm your identity at enrollment and again during the course, and a display name that matches the permit makes that check straightforward in a Zoom class.

The school mails the certificate out the next day. Because the DMV requires the original at the road test and does not accept copies, keep it flat and safe once it arrives; our MV-278 guide covers validity and replacements.

Price, calendar and cancellation

The price is $60, and the page says there are no hidden fees. Classes run on most days, in morning and evening time slots, so check the calendar for the day that works for you. Rescheduling and cancelling are free with at least 24 hours’ notice, and the page describes a full refund when you cancel.

Compared with the flat $40 that several other providers in this guide charge, $60 is higher. Our cost guide places the figure among the other prices we checked in October 2026.

After the class comes the longest wait: the road test itself. The DMV says the earliest openings are usually 3 to 5 weeks away, and up to 10 weeks in busy periods. The certificate you sign here lasts one year and must be valid on the day you book, so there is room for the wait. A learner under 18 must also have held the permit for six months and bring the MV-262.

Who may want to look elsewhere

The page does not state which language the class is taught in. If you need a Spanish class, see our Spanish-language guide; New York Auto School, also in Manhattan, lists Spanish classes.

If a camera-on rule does not suit you, a classroom class is another route; our guide to Zoom, classroom and online formats compares them. This profile draws on the school’s page and the DMV’s pages as checked in October 2026.

Against our published criteria, Grand Prix does well on a clearly posted price, classes on most days and certificate handling that is spelled out: mailed the next day, signed before you book. It scores lower where nothing is stated, which here means the class language. Image Driving School also sets camera-on rules for its Zoom class, and adds a classroom option in Brooklyn.

What we like

  • Classes offered daily, morning and evening
  • Free cancellation or rescheduling with 24 hours’ notice
  • No quizzes or final exam; you attend the full session
  • MV-278 mailed out the next day

Keep in mind

  • The language of instruction is not stated
  • Camera must be on, and your Zoom name must match your permit
  • At $60 it costs more than the $40 to $50 charged by several providers

Our verdict

Grand Prix offers a straightforward product: a live Zoom class every day, a published price and a certificate mailed the next day. The cancellation terms are clear, with free changes up to 24 hours ahead. The price is above the $40 to $50 range of several competitors, and the school does not state the class language, so confirm that before you pay. It is a sound option for learners in Manhattan who need flexibility more than the lowest price.

Best for: Manhattan learners who want a live class on any day of the week

Frequently asked questions

Is Grand Prix’s 5-hour class fully online?

Yes. It is a live class on Zoom with a live instructor. You attend the full session with your camera on, and there are no quizzes or final exam.

What do I need to register for the class?

Upload your learner permit when you register, and join Zoom with a display name that matches the name on the permit. Ages 16 and over can take the class.

Can I get a refund if I cancel?

The school’s page says rescheduling and cancelling are free with at least 24 hours’ notice, and that cancelling brings a full refund. Check the terms with the school before you pay.